Change is Good

I came across an article in Fitness magazine the other day which is really relevant to my life at this time. My husband and I were in the car a lot this past weekend (we put around 1000 miles on my car in 4 days) so we had some time to talk. Things are about to change for us. He has been in Physical Therapy school for the past 3 years. We agreed that I would work so he could get his degree. So I took a job at the university. I love my work. This is the same university I came to as a frightened little freshman 8 years ago. It is familiar. But it is not my dream.

In January, we will embark on an adventure! Josh’s last clinical is 12 weeks long and must be out of state so I will quit my job and go with him! We are hoping to go north (the Boston area). Nothing has been confirmed yet but I wait impatiently to hear where we will be. As exciting as this is, it is also terrifying. Decisions must be made. Where should we live? Where will he work? Will I be able to go back to school? What degree should I get? Will I be able to contribute to the money making with an art degree? When should we start trying to have kids? Should we buy a house right away?

But I haven’t asked myself these questions yet:

1) I want a career which uses my artistic gift every day. I want to create.

2) Bored. Restless. Like I was settling or missing out.

3) Financial reasons

I am so lucky to have a husband who encourages me to go after my goals and dreams. Someone who is willing to help support me in that journey. It is almost time. In less than a year we will be starting a whole new chapter in our lives. We have been in that weird and wonderful 20-something phase caught between adolescence and adulthood. This new chapter will be the ending of that phase which is depressing and exhilarating at the same time.

“I’m 22 for a moment
She feels better than ever
And we’re on fire
Making our way back from Mars
15 there’s still time for you
Time to buy and time to lose
15, there’s never a wish better than this
When you only got 100 years to live”

-Five For Fighting, 100 years 

Leave a comment

