May is Guillain-Barre Awareness Month

I have a fear of hospitals. I really hate them actually. I don’t know why, there are several nurses in my family including my own mother. For some reason they have always grossed/creeped me out. I always told myself that I wouldn’t have to worry about being in the hospital until I was having my first baby. So I have until I’m like at least 30 ; )

But in December 2010 I started experiencing tingling and weakness in my feet and legs. I assumed it was related to exercise but when it got worse I got scared. Diabetes runs in my family and I was terrified that’s what it was (the other symptoms weren’t there though). It took almost 3 weeks for me to get diagnosed by a neurologist with guillain-barre. I wish I had a picture of my face when he told me that I had to check in to a hospital for 5 days.

Most of the people who read this blog have heard the story plenty of times so I will skip to the happy part…I survived! I was so very lucky. I did not have to be put on a ventilator (about 30% of patients do) and I do not suffer from any residual paralysis or nerve pain.

However, I do suffer from other residual effects. It is all I can attribute these things to. I never had them before I got sick. Every once in a while, I have bouts of light headedness, fatigue, and blood pressure spikes which cause headaches. I do not know what triggers them yet and I have no idea how long I will be affected.

This week I have been having headaches that feel exactly like they did when I was sick. I am grumpy because of this as well as the problem with my knee. HOWEVER, I cannot complain about these things when there are so many whose lives were ruined by this rare disease. I am so lucky.

I had the blues
because I had no shoes
until upon the street,
I met a man who had no feet.

8 comments

  1. Well its awesome you’ve overcome it! I have asthma and so I am prone to all sorts of respiratory infections that can lead to worse things. I always get flu shots to help prevent getting sick (but its never a guarantee). People thought I might ‘grow out’ of my asthma, but unfortunately it’s always been with me and so I have learned to manage it (and not get me down!). I wrote a little bit about what its like having asthma in my ‘exercising is my lifestyle’ page. Even though you will have ‘remnants’ of the disorder, keep blogging about it because you never know who you might inspire with your story 😉

Leave a comment

