When My Husband is Right…

As I mentioned before, I have been having a lot of trouble with my right knee and foot. Just as one thing heals and I get going again, something else flares up. It is incredibly frustrating at this point – so early in my marathon training. My husband, an almost physical therapist (he will graduate in less than a year), has been telling me for years that I have a weak core and hips. I would say, whatever…I work out! I was a cardio queen (many years ago) and was under the false belief that strength training would make me look manly. A LOT has changed since then. I have been doing some P90X, and of course Insanity, but ever since I hurt my foot after the Austin 10/20 I am not the same.

Last night, my husband decided to perform a few tests on me. He concluded quickly that I have weak hips…SHOCKER!!

All we can think is that when my foot was hurt, I was guarding and walking incorrectly. (The pain was toward the back of my foot so I was walking on my toes) I did notice at the time that my leg was really tired at the end of the day from walking like that. This must have exascerbated some existing condition from having weak hips. During this time, I took a week off from exercise and even a couple days off work and I felt good when I did start exercising again. But then I think I increased my mileage too quickly in an effort to “make up for” time lost. (and also a lot of calories eaten while I was on vacation) A lesson I just can’t seem to learn…

So here I am…undergoing physical therapy from my husband. I thought Jillian Michaels was demanding ; )

But seriously, after talking with my husband and living through the first night of hip exercises (it’s way harder than you think!) I did some research. Not that I don’t trust him, but you know, I just needed to hear it from somewhere else. Turns out, if you search “weak hips and knee pain” you can find  over 80 million results.

Now, I am a very self motivated and disciplined young woman, but for some reason, when it comes to the exercises my husband gives me…I just can’t do it! I don’t know why. Probably because the things he gives me are to strengthen weak areas of my body. Which obviously sucks because those muscles are weak! So it burns! But, I have comitted to this marathon. I will not give up because of knee pain. I cannot accept that. I will do the hip exercises every day (actually twice a day) as part of my training. Hopefully, I will see a decrease in knee pain. In the meantime, I am yet again taking a few days off from exercising. At least my dog Boon felt sorry for me…

or maybe he just wanted to lick the ice pack…

“Run if you can, walk if you have to, crawl if you must, just never give up.” -Dean Karnazes

6 comments

Leave a comment

