The Trouble With My Knee

I’ve been struggling with a lot of minor injuries this year. All on the right side…right foot, right knee, and some pretty bad cramps under my right rib cage. I am currently taking a couple days off due to my knee feeling a little funny. It’s slightly swollen and keeps popping on me.

In February, I bought some new running shoes that turned out to be awful for me. They caused me to have a sharp pain in my knee when walking or running. At the time, I could not accept an injury. I was at the height of my training for the 10 mile race. I irrationally believed that accepting injury and taking a few days off would cause me to lose everything I had gained. It wasn’t until I started off for a run one night and got less than a mile in and had to hobble back to my car that I decided to take a rest.

It was awful. I felt like a failure. I felt helpless. I felt weak. I was still able to go to cycle class but I was very angry that I couldn’t run anymore. I try to live life under the internal locus of control…the belief that I can control what happens to me. When I was hurt I turned in to a victim.  I felt like there was nothing I could do and that all my hard work had been wasted. (We don’t always think clearly when we are angry) It took a couple weeks, but I eventually got better and it didn’t take long at all for me to get back to where I was when I got hurt.

Now, when I feel injury coming on I take a few rest days. Though I may not like it,  I realize that missing a day or two is much less devastating than weeks. I even find that I come back stronger when I have had some days off. I was doing some reading and came across a pretty good article about injuries.

“Smooth seas do not make skillful sailors.” -African Proverb

3 comments

Leave a comment

