My “Secret”

When I was losing weight, I would get so many questions about what my “secret” was. How was I doing it?! I was always very flattered when people would notice that I was losing weight. But I didn’t always like that they couldn’t see the hard WORK I was putting in. I did not use a fad diet, I did not use a pill, I did not use a trainer and I certainly didn’t use “this one weird trick” that you see advertised on the internet all the time. I simply educated myself about nutrition and started exercising…a lot. I started with walking, which led to running. Then I did insanity for a while. When I got bored with that I started going to cycle classes at the gym. Then I trained for a 10 mile race and now I am training for a marathon. A typical week for me while I was losing 1-3 pounds a week was like this:

Since my body burns about 2000 calories a day just living, my goal was to burn anywhere from 700-1000 calories a day through exercise. Then I would eat about 1500-1700 calories a day (2000 on the weekends). At first, all I cared about was the calorie content. But once I started focusing on eating more fruits, veggies, protein, and less carbs and sugar, I really saw a huge difference!  I have always had a problem with food, I have a lot of emotional attachments to it. So I had to make up for that with exercise. The weekends were the worst. I have since cut down to working out only once a day and it is a very difficult transition. But, I am no longer in weight loss mode so I must focus on not overeating so that I can maintain.

I documented the process in photos and measurements. When I was feeling defeated, I would look at them for perspective.

Me at my wedding in 2009 (my heaviest):

Me at my 10 mile race in April 2012 (total of 65 pounds lost):

I do not proclaim to know the weight loss “secret” because there is no secret. It takes education, commitment, hard work and a little bit of adaptability. It has taken me almost 3 years to get to where I am today. I failed…a lot. I cried…a lot.  But I just tried to forgive myself for being human and kept on going!

“You have no choices about how you lose, but you do have a choice about how you come back and prepare to win again.” -Pat Riley

24 comments

  1. Love your blog! THis is very inspirational. I used to run marathons before kids, and those days may be over, but I still love running. Hoping to do a 10 miler before I reach age 40 (13.5 months away).

      1. Haha! Well, I don’t know yet! I am just coming back from a knee injury. I ran for the first time in 2 weeks yesterday. Knee is better but my stamina was down! But I listen to my body and stop when it feels off. That way, I am only out for a few days rather than weeks. My husband is also helping me strengthen my hip/leg muscles to stabilize my knees and ankles better.

    1. Well I have had metabolic testing twice. Once in 2007 and again in 2009. I was at very different weights but it was around 2000 a day both times. So I try to operate off that. It gives me similar numbers when I do the online calculators as well.

    1. I LOVE insanity! It changed my body completely! I have the legs muscles of a soccer player and it increased my stamina for running. I recommend it to everyone. However, many of my friends have tried it after seeing my success and do not like it. It is pretty high impact and they don’t offer any “easier” options of the exercises like other workout dvds. If you don’t like jumping jacks, squats, push ups and stuff I would recommend trying it from a friend if you can. I found it on ebay for $70. Now, knowing how much it did for me, I would pay 10 times that. Good luck!!

Leave a comment

