No Cokes for a Year

Here in Texas all carbonated beverages are referred to as “cokes”. I usually stick to diet cokes but every once in a while a nice cold fountain dr. pepper really does it for me. My favorite is big red though.

A few days after the new year my husband and I were in bed reading. He was reading the biography about Tim Tebow which told the story of Tim’s parents promising Tim $100 if he stopped drinking cokes for a year. (My husband gets on to me for how much diet soda I drink) So he shares the story with me. I instantly scoff and say it would take a lot more than $100 for me to give up cokes. He raises his eyebrow and says ok, how much then? I thought about it briefly and said more like $400 or $500. My husband says ok then, if you give up cokes for the rest of this year, you can have $400. I laughed loudly and said how about I just take the $400?!

Many people don’t understand the agreement we’ve made because we share our money. However, that is just it. We share all of our money. So for me to get $400 to myself, for whatever I want, without my husband being able to tell me yes or no, is a pretty great opportunity. So I told him I would have to think about it. The next morning I went to a cycle class and thought it through. I decided that I have wanted a professional grade camera for a while but we’ve never had the money and it’s too much to ask for as a Christmas gift. If I ever want to change careers and become a serious artist, I will need a better camera.

So I came home and told my husband he was on. I haven’t had a coke since. He wouldn’t even let me have one more before the bet started.

It is pretty amazing though how much better I feel. So much less bloated. I went into this believing that I would go straight back to drinking cokes every day but now, I really like the way I feel. I still think about cokes daily, I think about stopping by the gas station and grabbing a 32 oz diet coke but I never do. When this year is over I will get a big red and enjoy the hell out of it. And then I am sure I will have an occasional soda here and there but for the most part I am sold on no cokes. Which is exactly what my husband was trying to accomplish. I guess my health and happiness are worth $400 to him. I wonder how much I could have gotten out of him…

“All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another.”  ~Anatole France

2 comments

  1. So funny to read this post. I have a “career coach” who was suggesting that I should cut back on my Diet Cokes as well (I drink them like water). I haven’t gone as cold turkey as you have but have switched to seltzer water. Not sure I’ve felt the physiological benefits, but am on a little bit of a high to say that I’ve done it. (although it’s been only 3 weeks)

  2. I used to be completely unable to get through the day without diet coke. It got to the point where I was just inhaling the stuff, not even tasting it. I stopped drinking them after reading an article about artificial sweeteners and the damage they do, but I tell you, there is nothing better than an ice-cold Dr. Pepper after a long run! When you’re bet is won, you enjoy the crap out of that Big Red! And when you space the sweet stuff apart, it tastes even better! 🙂

Leave a comment

