Snooze

Throughout the weight loss process, motivation was rarely a problem for me. It did take me a little bit to get the process started but once I dropped a few pounds and realized what I was doing was working, you couldn’t stop me. I haven’t lost that motivation but recently, I seem to be arguing with myself most days. It is though I have a devil and an angel on my shoulders. It can be quite maddening really. When the alarm goes off, my first thought is “well maybe I could just exercise after work instead” so I can hit snooze and stay in bed a little longer. Then my angel pipes in and reminds me of the following facts:

a workout will give you much more energy than an extra 30 minutes of sleep
you will feel sluggish all day and wish you had worked out
things may come up that prevent you from getting your workout in later today

And so I turn off the alarm, remove myself from the cozy sheets that my husband gets to stay in most days, put on my workout clothes and go. Today was a particularly tough day because it is raining. The temperature dropped and I felt so comfortable in bed.

My dog Boon didn’t make it any easier…He was pretty cozy while I was working out in the living room…

But it turned out that my angel was right…again. I felt so much better from my workout than I would have if I had snoozed a little longer. I am glad I got up and now my workout is done and I can go to the movies with my husband tonight ♥

“The pain of discipline is far less than the pain of regret.”

2 comments

Leave a comment

